Get In Touch

Contact Details

Social Media



Infant and Nursery School

'Blossom at Blossomfield'


Key Stage 1


Key Stage 1 Curriculum

‘The national curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. It introduces pupils to the best that has been thought and said; and helps engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement’ 
                                                                    (DFE - The national curriculum in England 2014)

The subjects taught in Key Stage 1 are English, Mathematics, Science, History, Geography, Art & Design, Computing, Design & Technology, Music and Physical Education. 
In Year 1 and Year 2 we base our work in school on the requirements of the National Curriculum 2014. Assessments of children’s attainment and achievement at the end of the key stage will be made against this curriculum. 

Classes are organised in single age groups. Within each class children experience a range of teaching strategies, and teaching methods may vary according to the subject.
Children will be taught in whole class, groups and individually, allowing for challenge and differentiation. Children are encouraged to develop their own learning styles, using a range of strategies to access the curriculum.


All children have a right to an education that enables them to make progress so that they:

  • achieve their best
  • become confident individuals and live fulfilling lives
  • make a successful transition into becoming an adult – whether that’s into further and higher education, training or work


At Blossomfield we make a commitment to:

  • Set suitable learning challenges
  • Respond to children’s diverse needs
  • Overcome potential barriers to learning


We believe that these principles underpin both our ethos and the taught curriculum.

School Values

Below are our core values.